Chairman, Wonderboy Kickstart 10th Yamaha Grand Prix Season

5 years ago 0 Comments

The 10th Yamaha Grand Prix (YGP) was one of for the books.

For this year, the YGP season kicked off with the annual categories of the YGP 150 Underbone Championship, All-Female Category, Dealer Cup Race, and Sniper 150 one-make race complemented by 160 Open AT, Club, and Fun Races.

But what made the event spectacular was young Filipino racing icons Masato ‘The Chairman’ Fernando and Mckinley Kyle ‘The Wonderboy’ Paz graced the event now as inspirations to the fellow riders.

Yamaha Philippines‘ dynamic duo once started their career in YGP where they continuously honed their skills to compete in every race.

As their skills grew, all their hard work resulted in becoming the Philippine representatives in the FIM Asia Road Racing Championship.

The YGP 150 Underbone Season Championship was composed of top riders from From Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao utilizing the Sniper 150 fitting the racers who wants to take home the titles.

Race 1 was a heated battle between Robert Ryan Espiritu and Garry Caneda. Determined to be on the first spot, Espiritu made a big gap on the last lap leaving Caneda at second place and Niel John Centeno at third.

In Race 2, Centeno made a great impression in the first lap but Espiritu eyes was in the prize as he claimed the back to back top finish.

The Overall standings for this leg had Espiritu at first, Centeno at second, and Ephraim Onahon at third.

In the All-Female category, Justine Bethany Tolentino, on board her Mio Sporty, showed why she is the reigning champ with a repeat victory and outclassing the field in the Luzon leg. Jasmin Jao trailed the leader with a one-second margin despite starting from the eighth spot. Last year’s 1st runner up, Erika Ondillo, pushed through the pack with a third-place finish.

The Dealer Cup Race consisted of MotorAce, New Nemar, FMN Industrial, Rhean Marketing, LYR Motorhub, and DES Marketing.

Everyone is eager to showcase the Yamaha brand beyond their shop. Maximizing the record-breaking Sight 115, each rider was ready to bring home the coveted championship and a season’s worth of bragging rights.

After 12 laps, Emerson Inguito of MotorAce placed top podium followed by Ephraim Onahon of Rhean Marketing and JR Daguio of LYR Motorhub.

In the Sniper 150 one-make race, JC Adia to unleash his full potential to win it all. He was swiftly followed by Tommy Topel and Ramon Franco.

The next leg is slated May 26 in Mindanao.

YGP Underbone 150 Season Championship
1st PLACE: Robert Ryan Espiritu
2nd PLACE: Neil John Centeno
3rd PLACE: Ephraim Onahon

1st PLACE: Motorace – Emerson Inguito
2nd PLACE: Rhean Marketing – Ephraim Onahon
3rd PLACE: LYR Motorhub – JR Daguio

1st Justinne Bethany Tolentino
2nd Jasmin Jao
3rd Erika Ondillo

1st PLACE: Anthony Enriquez
2nd PLACE: Laudie Cabahug – Vega Force Mantis Riders Inc.
3rd PLACE: Yhel Labicane – Sniper Club 150i MX

1st PLACE: Darwin Maristela – Mio i Riders Club 125
2nd PLACE: Mark Ehensado – Yamaha United
3rd PLACE: John Paul Austria – Mio i Riders Club 125

1st PLACE: Jason Bautista – Vega Force i Owners Club
2nd PLACE: David Lu – Yamaha United
3rd PLACE: Vijay Manguera – Vega Force i Owners Club

1st PLACE: JC Adia
2nd PLACE: Tommy Topel
3rd PLACE: Ramon Franco

1st PLACE: Christian Anderson
2nd PLACE: Maiko Adapon
3rd PLACE: Jaed Issifu

Source From:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Aplikasi UP Station
telah tersedia sekarang
Buka Artikel
Download Aplikasi