It’s Official: Formula E Will Be Renamed ABB FIA Formula E World Championship

3 years ago 0 Comments

It was a shared dream between Formula E Founder Alejandro Agag and FIA President Jean Todt.

What started as a single-seater electric car motor concept sketched on the back of a napkin has grown into one of the most popular motorsport series today.

And after six years and six seasons under its belt, another dream of theirs have finally come true: the Formula E will soon be recognized as the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.

“It was always our ambition to one day become an FIA world championship. Everything we have done and delivered to this point has been working towards this particular moment in time,” said Agag.

Todt believes that the Formula E has “undoubtedly gone from strength to strength”. And over the course of its existence, has proven itself relevant for the automotive industry within a major time frame.

ABB FIA Formula E World Championship

Formula E, also known as ABB FIA Formula E for sponsorship reasons, is a single seater motorsport championship that uses only electric cars. It began in 2011, with Beijing the place where the the inaugural championship took place  in September 2014.

Founder and Chairman Agag and FIA President Todt finalized the agreement at FIA headquarters at Place de la Concorde in Paris. This officially confirms their world championship status for its seventh season.

“Now we can say we have done it. But it is only the beginning of a new chapter under the banner of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.”

Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA)

The Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile, or FIA’s most prominent role is in the licensing and sanctioning of Formula One, World Endurance Championship, World Rally Championship and various forms of sports car and touring car racing. The FIA, along with the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM) also certify land speed record attempts. It was officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee in 2011, and has been granted full recognition in 2013.

For Formula E, becoming officially sanctioned by FIA in the single-seater hierarchy would mean a more competitive line-up of teams and drivers in motorsport the next season. Currently, Formula E has ten car manufacturers as part of the championship’s lineup this season.

Also read:

Manila to Host F1 Races Soon?


.also-read p {
display: flex;

Source From:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Aplikasi UP Station
telah tersedia sekarang
Buka Artikel
Download Aplikasi